Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Microbeads

Proposed Microbeads in Toiletries Regulations

The proposed Microbeads in Toiletries Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 150, No. 45 on November 5, 2016 (PDF Version 1,550 K) for a 75-day public comment period.

Consultation Document for Proposed Regulations for Microbeads in Personal Care Products Used to Exfoliate or Cleanse

On February 9, 2016 Environment and Climate Change Canada published a Consultation Document on Proposed Regulations for Microbeads in Personal Care Products Used to Exfoliate or Cleanse for a 30-day public comment period.

Adding Substances to Schedule 1

Microbeads have been included in a final Order to add to Schedule 1.

Microbeads is listed on Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) as plastic microbeads that are ≤ 5 mm in size. The Schedule 1 listing name was modified to align with the Government of Canada’s intentions to control plastic microbeads in personal care products.

Microbeads Science Summary

In July 2015, the Science Summary for microbeads was posted on Environment Canada's website. The related Notice was published in August 2015 in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 149, No. 31 - August 1, 2015 (PDF version 520 K)

The report recommends that microbeads be considered to meet one or more of the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999. On this basis, the Department of the Environment published a Notice of Intent indicating that it is initiating the development of proposed regulations under CEPA 1999 to prohibit the manufacture, import, sale and offer for sale of microbead-containing personal care products that are used to exfoliate or cleanse.

Mandatory Survey - Section 71 Notice

In August 2015, a Notice was issued in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 149, No. 31 - August 1, 2015 (PDF version 520 K) under section 71 of CEPA 1999. The Notice applied to microbead-containing personal care products that are used for exfoliating or cleansing the body.

The purpose of the section 71 Notice was to obtain information on the import, export and use activities of microbeads for the 2014 calendar year. This data is essential for risk management and will ensure decisions made are based on the most relevant and up-to-date information available.

Background

Microbeads are defined as plastic microbeads that are ≤ 5 mm in size and are used in many products, including personal care products such as soaps, facial cleansers and toothpaste.

Because of potential environmental concerns, the Government of Canada has prioritized the review of microbeads. As a result, a report has been produced which summarizes the state of the science and describes the potential impacts of microbeads on the environment, and a section 71 notice under CEPA 1999 has been published. A proposed Order to add microbeads to Schedule 1 and a Consultation Document on the Proposed Regulations for Microbeads in Personal Care Products Used to Exfoliate or Cleanse were also published for public comment periods.

Timelines
Date Activity
November 5, 2016 Publication in the Canada Gazette of the proposed Microbeads in Toiletries Regulation, and start of a 75-day public comment period.
June 29, 2016 Publication in the Canada Gazette of the final Order adding plastic microbeads to Schedule 1, under CEPA 1999.
February 9, 2016 Publication of a Consultation Document on the Proposed Regulations for Microbeads in Personal Care Products Used to Exfoliate or Cleanse and start of a 30-day public comment period.
August 1, 2015 Publication in the Canada Gazette of the proposed Order adding microbeads to Schedule 1, under CEPA 1999, and start of a 60-day public comment period.
August 1, 2015 Publication of a synopsis of the science summary report in the Canada Gazette.
August 1, 2015 Publication in the Canada Gazette of the Notice with respect to microbeads in certain personal care applications, under section 71 of CEPA 1999, and start of a 75 day response period.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Microbilles

Projet de Règlement sur les microbilles dans les produits de toilette

Le projet de Règlement sur les microbilles dans les produits de toilette a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : Vol. 150, No 45 - le 5 novembre 2016 (Version PDF 1 550 Ko) pour une période de commentaires du public de 75 jours.

Document de consultation pour le Projet de règlement pour les microbilles dans les produits de soins personnels utilisés pour exfolier ou nettoyer

Le 9 février 2016, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a publié un Document de consultation sur le Projet de règlement pour les microbilles dans les produits de soins personnels utilisés pour exfolier ou nettoyer en vue d'une période de rétroaction publique de 30 jours.

Ajout de substances à l'annexe 1

Les microbilles sont incluses dans le décret final visant l'inscription à l'annexe 1.

Les microbilles sont inscrites à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] comme microbilles de plastique de taille ≤ 5 mm. Le libellé a été modifié afin de s'harmoniser avec les intentions du Gouvernement du Canada de contrôler les microbilles de plastiques dans les produits de soins personnels.

Sommaire scientifique concernant les microbilles

En juillet 2015, le résumé du sommaire scientifique concernant les microbilles a été affiché sur le site web d'Environnement Canada. L'avis connexe a été publié en août 2015 dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : Vol. 149, No 31 - Le 1 août 2015 (Version PDF 520 Ko).

Le rapport recommande que les microbilles soient réputées remplir un ou plusieurs des critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999). Par conséquent, le ministère de l'Environnement a publié un avis d'intention de développer un règlement en application de la LCPE (1999) afin d'interdire la fabrication, l'importation, la vente et la mise en vente de produits de soins personnels servant à l'exfoliation ou au nettoyage qui contiennent des microbilles.

Enquête obligatoire - avis donné en vertu de l'article 71

En août 2015, un avis a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I: Vol. 149, No 31 - Le 1 août 2015 (Version PDF 520 Ko) en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999). L'avis s'appliquait aux produits de soins personnels qui servent à exfolier ou à nettoyer le corps et contiennent des microbilles.

L'avis donné en vertu de l'article 71 visait à obtenir de l'information concernant l'importation, l'exportation et l'utilisation de microbilles pendant l'année civile 2014. Ces données sont essentielles pour la gestion des risques et feront en sorte que les décisions prises soient fondées sur les renseignements les plus pertinents et à jour dont l'on dispose.

Contexte

Les microbilles sont définies comme microbilles de plastique de taille ≤ 5 mm. Elles sont utilisées dans nombre de produits, dont les produits de soins personnels comme les savons, les nettoyants pour le visage et les dentifrices.

En raison de préoccupations environnementales potentielles, le gouvernement du Canada a accordé la priorité à l'examen des microbilles, ce qui a donné lieu à la publication d'un rapport qui résume l'état actuel des connaissances scientifiques et décrit les conséquences potentielles des microbilles sur l'environnement. Un avis donné en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999) a été publié. Un décret visant l'ajout des microbilles à l'annexe 1 et un Document de consultation sur le Projet de Règlement pour les microbilles dans les produits de de soins personnels utilisés pour exfolier ou nettoyer ont été publiés pour des périodes de commentaires du public.

Échéanciers
Date Activité
Le 5 novembre 2016Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du projet de Règlement sur les microbilles dans les produits de toilette, et début d'une période de commentaires du public de 75 jours.
Le 29 juin 2016 Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du décret visant l'ajout des microbilles à l'annexe 1, en application de la LCPE (1999).
Le 9 février 2016 Publication d'un Document de consultation sur le Projet de Règlement pour les microbilles dans les produits de soins personnels utilisés pour exfolier ou nettoyer et début d'une période de commentaires du public (30 jours).
Le 1 août 2015 Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du décret proposé visant à inscrire les microbilles à l'annexe 1, en application de la LCPE (1999), et début d'une période de commentaires du public (60 jours).
Le 1 août 2015 Publication du résumé du rapport sur le sommaire scientifique dans la Gazette du Canada.
Le 1 août 2015 Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de l'Avis concernant les microbilles dans certains produits de soins personnels, en application de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999), et début d'une période de réponse de 75 jours.