Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Formaldehyde

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Formaldehyde is a colourless gas that is emitted mainly from household products and building materials. Low levels of formaldehyde in indoor air are very common and not of concern. When found at high levels in air, it can be detected by a sharp smell. Formaldehyde can off-gas from certain products, such as building materials and some furniture. Testing has shown that formaldehyde is released from more than 90% of selected composite wood products tested, and releases increase with higher temperatures and humidity. It can also be released from sources like cigarette smoke, use of fireplaces and cooking. High concentrations of formaldehyde can cause irritation of the eyes, nose and throat and can worsen asthma symptoms, especially in children.

Notice of Intent to Develop Regulations

In March 2017, a Notice of intent was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 151, No. 11 – March 18, 2017) (PDF Version 1,240 K) that the Department of the Environment and the Department of Health are initiating the development of proposed regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) respecting formaldehyde emission standards for composite wood products to help reduce exposure to formaldehyde emissions from certain wood products produced domestically or imported into Canada. A proposed regulation is intended to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, in early 2018.

The Notice of intent to develop proposed regulations recognizes current North American activities, specifically those of the United States (U.S.) Environmental Protection Agency which published the Formaldehyde Emission Standards for Composite Wood Products in December 2016. The U.S. national emission standards, coming into force in December 2017, require composite wood products sold or imported in the US to comply with the requirements of the California Air Resources Board (CARB) on formaldehyde emissions and with other requirements such as product traceability and certification.

The Government of Canada invites all interested stakeholders to participate in the 60-day public comment period, from March 18, 2017 to May 17, 2017 . As part of an open and transparent process, the development of these proposed regulations will include consultations with representatives of provincial and territorial governments, industry, non-governmental organizations, the public and other stakeholders. These consultations will include an initial launch webinar in spring 2017 followed by a more in-depth multi-stakeholder workshop (see Timelines). Any comments will be considered during the development of the proposed regulations.

How to Participate

All interested parties (for example, importers, manufacturers, retailers, non-governmental organizations, the public) may submit comments and their interest in participating in these consultations (launch webinar and multi-stakeholder workshop) to the Executive Director, Program Development and Engagement Division, Environment and Climate Change Canada by facsimile to 819-938-5212, or by email to eccc.substances.eccc@canada.ca.

Timelines

Date Activity
March 18, 2017 Release of the Notice of intent to develop proposed regulations respecting formaldehyde emission standards for composite wood products and an invitation to interested parties to participate in consultations.
Spring 2017 Initial launch webinar introducing the Government of Canada’s intention to regulate formaldehyde emissions in composite wood products and outline areas where stakeholder input is requested. Release of a stakeholder consultation document outlining the potential approach and information needs.
Summer 2017 A multi-stakeholder workshop in Ottawa, Ontario to discuss development of proposed regulations. 
June 2017 Stakeholder input on proposed regulations welcome until June 2017. 
Winter 2018 Publication of the proposed regulations in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

If needed, other information gathering tools could be used to inform potential risk management actions.

Background

In 2001, Environment Canada and Health Canada completed a risk assessment for formaldehyde and concluded that it was harmful to human health and the environment under CEPA 1999. Formaldehyde was added to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999. Current controls focus on reducing formaldehyde emissions to outdoor air. These include:

Formaldehyde is also a concern for indoor air, requiring a different risk management approach. In 2006, Health Canada developed a Residential Indoor Air Quality Guideline for Formaldehyde. Furthermore, the manufacture, import, advertising or sale of urea formaldehyde-based thermal insulation, which is foamed in place and used to insulate buildings, is prohibited under the Canada Consumer Product Safety Act (CCPSA). In addition, a voluntary standard was established by the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) in 2016 to harmonize with measures that were already in place in the state of California.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Formaldéhyde

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Le formaldéhyde est un gaz incolore qui est émis principalement par les produits ménagers et les matériaux de construction. La présence de faibles concentrations de formaldéhyde dans l’air intérieur est très courante et non préoccupante. Lorsqu’il est présent à des niveaux élevés dans l’air, on le détecte par son odeur piquante. Formaldéhyde peut s’infiltrer dans l’air intérieur par dégagement gazeux de certains produits, tels que des matériaux de construction et certains meubles. Des analyses ont démontré que le formaldéhyde se dégage de plus de 90 % des produits en bois composite sélectionnés et testés, et la diffusion de formaldéhyde par dégagement gazeux de certains produits augmente lorsque les températures et les taux d’humidité sont élevés. Il peut également se dégager de sources telles que la fumée de cigarette, l’utilisation des foyers et la cuisson. Des concentrations élevées de formaldéhyde peuvent causer une irritation des yeux, du nez et de la gorge et peuvent aggraver les symptômes d’asthme, surtout chez les enfants.

Avis d’intention de développer un règlement

En mars 2017 , un avis d’intention a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 151, no 11 – le 18 mars 2017 (Version PDF 1 240 Ko)au sujet de l’intention du ministère de l’Environnement et du ministère de la Santé de développer un projet de règlement en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] concernant les normes sur les émissions de formaldéhyde provenant des produits en bois composite afin d’aider à réduire l’exposition aux émissions de formaldéhyde de certains produits en bois fabriqués ou importés au Canada. Un projet de règlement devrait être publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, au début de 2018.

L’avis d’intention de développer un projet de règlement reconnaît les activités en cours en Amérique du Nord, particulièrement celles de l’Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis (É.-U.) qui a publié une norme sur les émissions de formaldéhyde provenant des produits en bois composite (Formaldehyde Emission Standards for Composite Wood Products). Ces normes nationales sur les émissions des É.-U., dont l’entrée en vigueur est prévue en décembre 2017, exige que les produits en bois composite vendus ou importés aux É.U. soient conformes aux exigences du California Air Resources Board (CARB) concernant les émissions de formaldéhyde et à d’autres exigences, telles que la traçabilité et la certification des produits.

Le gouvernement du Canada invite tous les intervenants intéressés à participer à la période de commentaires du public de 60 jours, s’échelonnant du 18 mars 2017 au 17 mai 2017. Dans le cadre d’un processus ouvert et transparent, le développement de ce projet de règlement comprendra des consultations auprès de représentants des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, de l’industrie, d’organisations non gouvernementales, du public et d’autres intervenants. Ces consultations comprendront un webinaire sur le lancement initial au printemps 2017 suivi d’un atelier multilatéral plus approfondi (voir le calendrier). Tous les commentaires recueillis seront pris en considération au cours du développement du projet de règlement.

Comment participer

Toutes les parties intéressées (par exemple, importateurs, fabricants, détaillants, organisations non gouvernementales, le public) peuvent soumettre des commentaires et exprimer leur intérêt à participer à ces consultations (webinaire de lancement et atelier multilatéral) au Directeur exécutif, Division de la mobilisation et de l’élaboration de programme, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada par télécopieur au 819-938-5212, ou par courriel à eccc.substances.eccc@canada.ca.

Calendrier

Date Activity
18 mars 2017 Publication de l’avis d’intention de développer un projet de règlement concernant les normes sur les émissions de formaldéhyde provenant des produits en bois composite et une invitation aux parties intéressées à participer aux consultations.
Printempts 2017 Webinaire sur le lancement initial introduisant l’intention du gouvernement du Canada de réglementer les émissions de formaldéhyde dans les produits en bois composite et soulignant les domaines où l’avis des intervenants est demandé. Diffusion d’un document de consultation auprès des intervenants soulignant l’approche du projet de règlement et les besoins d’information.
Été 2017 Un atelier multilatéral à Ottawa, en Ontario, afin de discuter le développement du projet de règlement.
Juin 2017 Les avis des intervenants sur le projet de règlement seront acceptés jusqu’en juin 2017. 
Hiver 2018 Publication du projet de règlement dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, Partie I.

Au besoin, d’autres outils de collecte de renseignements pourraient être utilisés en vue d’orienter les mesures de gestion des risques possibles.

Contexte

En 2001, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont complété une évaluation des risques liés au formaldéhyde et ont conclu qu’il était nocif pour la santé humaine et l’environnement en vertu de la LCPE (1999). Le formaldéhyde a été ajouté à la Liste des substances toxiques de l’Annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999). Les mesures de contrôle actuelles sont axées sur la réduction des émissions de formaldéhyde dans l’air extérieur. Parmi ces mesures, notons les suivantes :

Le formaldéhyde est également une préoccupation dans l’air intérieur, ce qui requiert l’adoption d’une approche différente en matière de gestion des risques. En 2006, Santé Canada a établi des nouvelles lignes directrices sur la qualité de l’air intérieur résidentiel relatives au formaldéhyde. De plus, la fabrication, l’importation, la publicité et la vente d’isolant thermique à base d’urée formaldéhyde, expansé sur place et utilisé pour isoler les bâtiments, sont interdites en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation (LCSPC). En outre, une norme facultative a été établie par l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) en 2016 pour s’harmoniser avec les mesures qui étaient en vigueur en Californie.