Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Micro-organisms

Micro-organisms are broadly defined as bacteria, fungi, yeasts, protozoa, algae, viruses, eukaryotic cell culture, and any culture other than a pure culture. As with chemicals, new and existing micro-organisms must undergo a screening assessment under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) to determine whether they can cause harm to human health or the environment.

As part of the Chemicals Management Plan, the 68 micro-organism strains on the Next link will take you to another Web site Domestic Substances List (DSL) will be assessed. The Government of Canada used known hazard characteristics to rank the micro-organism strains into groups that determine their priority for assessment. The criteria used to rank the micro-organism strains are described in the Next link will take you to another Web site Prioritization of Micro-organism Strains on the Domestic Substances List.

  • Priority A- Micro-organism strains on the DSL given a high priority for assessment because they are considered human, plant or animal pathogens by recognized authorities or (in the case of microbial consortia) because the hazard level is uncertain.
  • Priority B- Micro-organism strains on the DSL given a medium priority for assessment because, while they are not specifically identified as pathogens, there is significant evidence in the scientific literature of potential to cause harm to human health or the environment.
  • Priority C- Micro-organism strains on the DSL identified for expedited assessment based on their lower potential to cause harm to human health or the environment.

Screening Assessment Process

The systematic steps used to conduct science-based risk assessments of micro-organism strains on the DSL are described in the Next link will take you to another Web site Framework for Science-Based Risk Assessment of Micro-organisms regulated under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

After the preparation of the screening assessment (informed by responses to the section 71 Notice), the screening assessment undergoes a scientific review by experts internal to Environment Canada and Health Canada followed by an external scientific review. The review process ensures that the screening assessments are scientifically sound, complete, and based on the most up-to-date information.

As a result of the screening assessment process, the Next link will take you to another Web site Domestic Substances List (DSL) may be amended from time to time to indicate that the Significant New Activity (SNAc) provisions of CEPA 1999 apply to some existing micro-organism strains. For more details on the screening assessment process, please refer to the Next link will take you to another Web site General Information on the Screening Assessments of Living Organisms on the Domestic Substances List.

Micro-organisms strains that are not listed on the DSL are considered 'new'. For more information on how new substances and new micro-organisms are assessed and managed, please visit Environment Canada's Next link will take you to another Web site New Substances website.

Background

To establish whether micro-organism strains on the DSL continue to be manufactured in or imported into Canada, an information-gathering Notice under section 71 of CEPA with respect to micro-organism strains on the DSL was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 143, No. 40 - October 3, 2009 (Next link will take you to another Web site PDF Version - 1057 K). This section 71 Notice applied to all of the 45 micro-organisms on the list at that time, regardless of their priority ranking. Twenty three strains have since been added to the DSL. These were not subject to the section 71 Notice.

The following are examples of products that may contain new and existing micro-organisms that may be subject to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Please note that these lists are not exhaustive.

Micro-organisms intended for use in:

  • Adhesives
  • Biofiltration
  • Biofuel production
  • Biological waste treatment
  • Biomass conversion
  • Bioremediation
  • Biosensing
  • Catalysts
  • Cleaners/Detergents
  • Compost starter
  • Enhanced oil recovery
  • Enzyme Production
  • Fermentation
  • Fossil fuel or natural gas desulfuration
  • Microbial biomass/feedstock
  • Microbial degreasing
  • Microbial drain cleaning
  • Odour control products
  • Products for RV holding tanks
  • Pulp and paper
  • Septic tank starter
  • Solubilizing hemicellulose
  • Wax separation

Micro-organisms in products also subject to the Food and Drugs Act, including:

  • Biologics
  • Cosmetics
  • Food additives
  • Food packaging
  • Medical devices
  • Natural health products
  • Novel foods
  • Personal care products
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Production organisms
  • Veterinary drugs

If you have questions or comments, please contact us. Indicate on the envelope or subject line "Screening Assessment of Existing Micro-organisms Inquiry".

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Micro-organismes

Les micro-organismes sont définis de manière générale comme des bactéries, des champignons, des levures, des protozoaires, des algues, des virus, des cultures cellulaires eucaryotes et toute culture autre qu'une culture pure. Comme avec les substances chimiques, les micro-organismes nouveaux et existants doivent subir une évaluation préalable en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE 1999) pour déterminer s'ils peuvent nuire à la santé humaine ou à l'environnement.

Dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques, les souches des 68 micro-organismes de la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Liste intérieure des substances (LIS) seront évalués. Le gouvernement du Canada a utilisé les caractéristiques connues relatives au danger pour classer les souches de micro-organismes en groupes qui déterminent leur priorité d'évaluation. Les critères utilisés afin de classer les souches de micro-organismes sont décrits dans les Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web lignes directrices d'établissement de priorités des souches de micro-organismes inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances.

  • Priorité A- Souches de micro-organismes inscrites sur la LIS, auxquelles on attribue une priorité élevée pour l'évaluation, car elles sont considérées comme étant des agents pathogènes humains, phytopathogènes ou zoopathogènes par les autorités compétentes ou (dans le cas de consortiums microbiens) parce que le niveau de danger est incertain.
  • Priorité B- Souches de micro-organismes inscrites sur la LIS, auxquelles on attribue une priorité moyenne pour l'évaluation, car bien qu'elles n'entrent pas spécifiquement dans la catégorie des pathogènes, il existe des preuves importantes dans les publications scientifiques de leur potentiel d'effets nocifs sur la santé humaine ou sur l'environnement.
  • Priorité C- Souches de micro-organismes inscrites sur la LIS désignées pour être soumises à une évaluation accélérée en raison de leur faible potentiel d'effets nocifs sur la santé humaine ou sur l'environnement.

Processus d'évaluation préalable

Les étapes systématiques utilisées pour effectuer des évaluations des dangers présentés par les souches de micro-organismes inscrites sur la LIS fondées sur la science sont décrites dans le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Cadre pour l'évaluation des risques que présentent les micro-organismes et fondée sur la science, réglementé en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).

Après la préparation de l'évaluation préalable (appuyé par les réponses à l'Avis émis en vertu de l'article 71), l'évaluation préalable fait l'objet d'un examen scientifique, par des experts travaillant au sein d'Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada, suivi d'un examen scientifique externe. Le processus d'examen permet de s'assurer que les évaluation préalable sont scientifiquement valables, complets et fondés sur les renseignements les plus à jour.

À la suite du processus d'évaluation préalable, la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Liste intérieure des substances (LIS) peut être modifiée à l'occasion pour indiquer que les dispositions de nouvelle activité de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) s'appliquent à certaines souches de micro-organismes existantes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'évaluation préalable, veuillez consulter les Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Renseignements généraux sur l'évaluation préalable des organismes vivants inscrits sur la Liste intérieure des substances.

Les souches de micro-organismes qui ne figurent pas sur la Liste intérieure des substances sont considérées comme « nouvelles ». Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la manière dont les substances nouvelles et les micro-organismes nouveaux sont évalués et gérés, veuillez consulter le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web site Web sur les substances nouvelles d'Environnement Canada.

Contexte

Afin de déterminer si les souches de micro-organismes inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances continuent d'être fabriqués ou importés au Canada, une Avis en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE visant a la collecte de renseignements concernant des souches de micro-organismes de la Liste intérieure des substances a été publié dans la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 143, no 40 - Le 3 octobre 2009 (Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web version PDF - 1057 K). Cet avis en vertu de l'article 71 visait l'ensemble des 45 micro-organismes inscrits sur la liste à ce moment-là, peu importe leur cote de priorité. Depuis, 23 souches ont été ajoutées à la Liste intérieure des substances. Elles n'étaient pas assujetties à l'avis en vertu de l'article 71.

Les exemples ci-après présentent des produits pouvant contenir des micro-organismes nouveaux et existants et pouvant être assujettis à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LPCE 1999). Veuillez noter que ces listes ne sont pas exhaustives.

Micro-organismes destinés à être utilisés dans les domaines suivants :

  • Adhésifs
  • Biofiltration
  • Production de biocarburant
  • Traitement biologique des déchets
  • Conversion de la biomasse
  • Biorestauration
  • Biodétection
  • Catalyseurs
  • Produits de nettoyage/Détergents
  • Démarrage de compost
  • Récupération assistée des hydrocarbures
  • Production d'enzymes
  • Fermentation
  • Désulfuration du gaz naturel ou des combustibles fossiles
  • Biomasse microbienne/matières de base
  • Dégraissage microbien
  • Nettoyage et dégraissage microbiens de tuyaux d'évacuation
  • Désodorisants
  • Produits pour les réservoirs de retenue des véhicules de plaisance
  • Pâtes et papiers
  • Démarrage pour fosse septique
  • Hémicellulose solubilisante
  • Séparation des cires

Micro-organismes dans les produits également assujettis à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, y compris :

  • Produits biologiques
  • Produits cosmétiques
  • Additifs alimentaires
  • Emballage alimentaire
  • Matériel médical
  • Produits de santé naturels
  • Nouveaux aliments
  • Produits de soins personnels
  • Produits pharmaceutiques
  • Organismes de production
  • Médicaments vétérinaires

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, veuillez communiquer avec nous. Indiquez sur l'enveloppe ou la ligne du sujet « Demande de renseignements relatifs à l'évaluation préalable des micro-organismes existants ».