Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Phthalate Substance Grouping

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Certain phthalate substances are among those identified as priorities for action for the second phase of the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP). The selection of the phthalate substances for action was based on the categorization process completed in 2006, and on information received as part of the first phase of the CMP. Fourteen phthalate substances were included in this substance grouping, and were selected for a number of different reasons: some have been identified as potentially associated with reproductive and developmental effects; some have a wide range of consumer applications; some are associated with potential ecological effects of concern; and some have been identified as priorities internationally.

Due to the possibility that some phthalate substances may have common health effects of concern, the potential for cumulative risk from combined exposure to these substances was addressed by expanding the scope of the Phthalates Grouping from the original 14 phthalates to include an additional 14 phthalates, including three previously assessed under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) (dibutyl phthalate [DBP], butyl benzyl phthalate [BBP], and diethyl hexyl phthalates [DEHP]). Other phthalates on the Domestic Substances List, or that have been notified for use in Canada under the New Substances Notification Regulations (Chemicals and Polymers) may also be considered in the cumulative risk assessment.

State of the Science Reports and Proposed Approach for Cumulative Risk Assessment of Phthalates

In August 2015, four state of the science reports, which collectively consider 14 substances, and a Next link will take you to another Web site Proposed Approach for Cumulative Risk Assessment of Phthalates were released for a 60-day public comment period ending September 30, 2015.

The Government of Canada is soliciting comments on these documents. Interested parties are encouraged to provide comments and suggestions by September 30, 2015 to the Substances Management Information Line, indicating on the envelope or subject line "Phthalates state of the science reports and proposed approach for cumulative risk assessment of phthalates".

Summary of Publications

Phthalate Substances
Subgrouping CAS RN Chemical Substance State of the Science Report Proposed Approach for Cumulative Risk Assessment of Phthalates

Table 1 footnotes

Table 1 footnote 1

Based on differences in the scientific considerations related to physical-chemical properties and potential health effects of concern, DINP is considered as a medium-chain phthalate for the purposes of the health review, and as a long-chain phthalate for the purposes of the ecological review

Return to table 1 footnote1 referrer

Short-chain Phthalate 131-11-3 DMP Next link will take you to another Web site HTML Next link will take you to another Web site HTML
Medium-chain Phthalates 84-61-7 DCHP Next link will take you to another Web site HTML
84-64-0 BCHP
84-69-5 DIBP
523-31-9 DBzP
5334-09-8 CHIBP
16883-83-3 B84P
27215-22-1 BIOP
27987-25-3 DMCHP
68515-40-2 B79P
71888-89-6 DIHepP
DINPTable 1 footnote 1 28553-12-0
68515-48-0
DINP Next link will take you to another Web site HTML
Long-chain Phthalates 26761-40-0
68515-49-1
DIDP Next link will take you to another Web site HTML
3648-20-2 DUP
Timelines
Date Activity
Summer 2017 Anticipated publication in Canada Gazette of final screening assessment decisions under subsection 77(6) of CEPA 1999, including an assessment of cumulative risk for certain substances.
Summer 2016 Anticipated release of the draft screening assessment, in Canada Gazette including an assessment of cumulative risk for certain substances, and start of 60-day public comment period.
August 1, 2015 Release of the state of the science report and the proposed cumulative risk assessment approach, in Canada Gazette, and start of 60-day public comment period.
January 13, 2014 Deadline for submission of any voluntary information by interested stakeholders.
November 13, 2013 Deadline for submission of information for the section 71 Notice (without an extension).
July 13, 2013 Release of the section 71 Notice with respect to certain phthalate substances and the accompanying technical documents.

If needed, other information gathering tools could be used to inform potential risk management actions.

Submissions Received

Submissions Received for the Phthalate Substance Grouping
Type of Response Approximate Number
Responses to mandatory section 71 Notice (responses were received relating to 27 substances in the grouping) 132
Requests for extension of the deadline for section 71 Notice responses granted 37
Expressions of "Stakeholder Interest" (responses were received relating to 32 substances in the grouping) 70
Other submissions (for example, studies, additional information) (submissions were received relating to 5 substances in the grouping) 12

Background

Multi-stakeholder Technical Workshop

In March 2014, Environment Canada and Health Canada hosted a multi-stakeholder technical workshop in Ottawa. The primary objective of this workshop was to obtain input on:

  1. a proposed category and read-across approach for the human health effects portion of the planned assessment and
  2. early thinking on approaches for a potential cumulative risk assessment for the human health assessment.

The workshop format encouraged input from stakeholders, and two key observations from participants were:

  • Overall support for the category and read-across approach, with constructive technical input on specific elements; and,
  • Strong interest in staying engaged on scientific considerations as the Government progresses in its assessment of the Phthalate Substance Grouping, in particular on its approach for a cumulative risk assessment.

Summary Report on 2014 Phthalates Stakeholder Technical Workshop

Following discussions at the stakeholder technical workshop, a technical category approach document was developed and refined by Health Canada that outlined its approach, using chemical categories and read-across data to address data gaps for effects on the developing male reproductive system. The purpose of this exercise was to develop appropriate subgroups for identification of common health effects of concern (for example, reproductive and developmental effects).

Approach for Using Chemical Categories and Read-Across to Address Data Gaps for Effects on the Developing Male Reproductive System

Further to feedback received during the workshop and based on consideration of the complex scientific issues, strong stakeholder interest in providing scientific input, and recent international developments on phthalates, the original risk assessment timelines for the Phthalates Grouping were adjusted by one year. In August 2015, Environment Canada and Health Canada published four state of the science reports and the Proposed Cumulative Risk Assessment Approach document for a 60-day public comment period. This additional activity was undertaken to solicit input on the science prior to publication of a draft screening assessment, including an assessment of cumulative risk, as appropriate, in summer 2016.

Section 71 Notice (Mandatory Survey)

On July 13, 2013, a Notice was issued in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol.147, No. 28 - July 13, 2013 (Next link will take you to another Web site PDF Version - 2,257 K) under section 71 of the CEPA 1999.

Every person to whom this Notice applied was required to comply with the Notice no later than 5:00 p.m. EST, November 13, 2013.

If you have questions or comments, please contact us. Indicate on the envelope or subject line "Phthalate Substance Grouping."

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Groupe de substances des phtalates

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Certains phtalates sont parmi les substances identifiées en priorité pour une action dans le cadre de la deuxième phase du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC). La sélection des substances des phtalates à traiter s'est effectuée selon le processus de catégorisation effectué en 2006 et de l'information obtenue au cours de la première phase du PGPC. Quatorze phtalates ont été inclus dans ce groupe de substances. Ils ont été sélectionnés pour un certain nombre de raisons : certains ont été associés à des effets sur la reproduction et le développement, certains se retrouvent dans des applications destinées aux consommateurs; certains sont associés à des effets potentiellement néfastes sur l'environnement et certains ont été déclarés comme étant des priorités internationales.

Certaines substances des phtalates pourraient avoir des effets communs sur la santé préoccupants. Pour tenir compte du risque cumulatif possible lié à l'exposition à ces substances, 14 phtalates de la Liste intérieure des substances ont été ajoutés au groupe initial de 14 phtalates, incluant les trois substances précédemment évaluées en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (le dibutyl phtalate [DBP], le butyl benzyl phtalate [BBP], et le diéthyl hexyl phtalates [DEHP]). D'autres phtalates sur la Liste intérieure des substances, ou qui ont été déclaré pour utilisation au Canada en vertu du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (substances chimiques et polymères) pourraient aussi être considérés dans l'évaluation des risques cumulatifs.

Rapports sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques et approche proposée pour l'évaluation des risques cumulatifs des phtalates

En août 2015, quatre rapports sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques, qui portent collectivement sur 14 substances, et une Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web approche proposée pour l'évaluation des risques cumulatifs des phtalates ont été publiés pour un période de consultation publique de 60 jours se terminant le 30 septembre 2015.

Le gouvernement du Canada veut obtenir des commentaires sur ces documents. Les parties intéressées doivent transmettre leurs commentaires et suggestions à la Ligne d'information de la gestion des substances, d'ici le 30 septembre 2015. L'enveloppe ou la ligne objet du message doit porter la mention « Rapports sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques sur les phtalates et approche proposée pour l'évaluation des risques cumulatifs des phtalates ».

Résumé des publications

Substances des phtalates
Sous-groupe No CAS Substance chimique Rapport sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques Approche proposée pour l'évaluation des risques cumulatifs des phtalates

Notes de bas de page du Tableau 1

Tableau 1 note de bas de page 1

Fondé sur les différences entre les considérations scientifiques relatives aux propriétés physico-chimiques et les effets préoccupants potentiels sur la santé, le DINP est considéré comme un phtalate à chaîne moyenne pour les besoins de l'examen des effets sur la santé et comme un phtalate à chaîne longue pour les besoins de l'examen sur les effets écologiques.

Retour à la référence 1 de la note de bas de page du tableau 1

Phtalate à chaîne courte 131-11-3 DMP Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web HTML Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web HTML
Phtalates à chaîne moyenne 84-61-7 DCHP Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web HTML
84-64-0 BCHP
84-69-5 DIBP
523-31-9 DBzP
5334-09-8 CHIBP
16883-83-3 B84P
27215-22-1 BIOP
27987-25-3 DMCHP
68515-40-2 B79P
71888-89-6 DIHepP
DINPTableau 1 note de bas de page 1 28553-12-0
68515-48-0
DINP Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web HTML
Phtalates à chaîne longue 26761-40-0
68515-49-1
DIDP Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web HTML
3648-20-2 DUP
Échéancier
Date Activité
Été 2017 Publication prévue dans la Gazette du Canada des décisions d'évaluations finales en vertu du paragraphe 77(6) de la LCPE 1999, notamment des risques cumulés pour certaines substances.
Été 2016 Publication prévue des évaluations préalables provisoires, notamment des risques cumulés pour certaines substances, dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours.
Le 1 août 2015 Publication de rapport sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques et de la méthode d'évaluation des risques cumulés, dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours.
Le 13 janvier 2014 Date limite pour la soumission volontaire de tout renseignement par des parties intéressées.
Le 13 novembre 2013 Date limite pour la soumission de renseignements dans le cadre de l'avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 (sans prolongation).
Le 13 juillet 2013 Publication d'un avis en vertu de l'article 71 concernant certains phtalates ainsi que les documents techniques connexes.

Au besoin, d'autres outils de collecte de renseignements pourraient être utilisés en vue d'orienter des mesures de gestion des risques possibles.

Présentations reçues

Présentations reçues pour le groupe des substances des phtalates
Type de réponse Nombre approximatif
Réponse à l'avis d'enquête obligatoire en vertu de l'article 71 (des réponses ont été reçues pour 27 substances du groupe) 132
Demandes accordées de prolongation du délai concernant les réponses à l'avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 37
Déclarations d'intérêt de parties intéressées (des réponses ont été reçues pour 32 substances du groupe) 70
Autres présentations (comme des études et des renseignements additionnels) (des présentations ont été reçues pour 5 substances du groupe) 12

Contexte

Atelier technique multilatéral

En mars 2014, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont organisé un atelier technique pour les diverses parties intéressées concernées à Ottawa. Cet atelier avait comme principal objectif d'obtenir des commentaires par rapport :

  1. à une approche proposée pour la catégorisation et la lecture croisée pour la portion des effets sur la santé humaine de l'évaluation prévue et
  2. aux réflexions préliminaires sur les méthodes possibles pour l'évaluation des risques cumulatifs potentiels pour l'évaluation des effets sur la santé humaine.

L'atelier était constitué de telle manière à encourager les participants à faire part de leurs commentaires. On peut d'ailleurs tirer deux conclusions à cet effet :

  • les intervenants étaient généralement en accord avec la catégorisation et la méthode de lecture croisée et ont su faire part de commentaires techniques constructifs sur certaines questions;
  • les intervenants se sont montrés désireux de continuer de participer au volet scientifique dans les travaux du gouvernement sur l'évaluation du groupe de substances des phtalates, surtout pour ce qui est de la méthode d'évaluation des risques cumulés.

Rapport sommaire sur l'atelier technique multilatéral sur les phtalates de 2014

À la suite des discussions menées à l'atelier technique multilatéral, Santé Canada a préparé et perfectionné un document décrivant l'approche technique relative aux catégories. Cette approche repose sur l'utilisation de catégories de substances chimiques et la lecture croisée de données pour combler les lacunes en matière de données sur les effets sur le développement du système reproducteur masculin. Cet exercice visait à créer des sous-groupes appropriés les effets préoccupants potentiels sur la santé (par example, les effets sur la reproduction et le développement).

Approche pour utiliser les catégories de substances chimiques et la lecture croisée afin de combler les lacunes au chapitre des données sur les effets sur le développement du système reproducteur masculin

Compte tenu des commentaires reçus pendant l'atelier, des questions scientifiques complexes, de la volonté marquée des parties intéressées à contribuer et des récentes percées internationales en matière de phtalates, l'échéance de l'évaluation des risques pour le groupe des phtalates a été reportée d'un an. En août 2015, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont publié quatre rapports sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques et l'approche proposée pour l'évaluation des risques cumulatifs des phtalates pour une consultation publique de 60 jours. Cette mesure additionnelle visait à recueillir des commentaires sur les connaissances scientifiques avant de publier une ébauche d'évaluation préalable, y compris une évaluation des risques cumulatifs en été 2016, s'il y a lieu.

Avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 (enquête obligatoire)

Le 13 juillet 2013, un avis a été publié dans la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie 1 : vol. 147, no 28 - Le 13 juillet 2013 (Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Version PDF - 2257 Ko) en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999).

Toute personne à qui l'avis s'applique devait se conformer à cet avis au plus tard le 13 novembre 2013 à 17 h HNE.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, veuillez communiquer avec nous. Indiquez sur l'enveloppe ou dans l'objet « Groupe de substances des phtalates ».