Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substance Grouping

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

The Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substances are among those identified as priorities for action following the categorization process and based on additional human health concerns. Some of the substances within this substance grouping may break down to certain aromatic amines or benzidines due to the potential cleavage of the azo bonds within the molecules. Those substances have been identified by other jurisdictions as a concern due to potential release of aromatic amines or benzidines that are known or are likely to be carcinogenic. Some of the substances in this substance grouping are known to be or may be found in imported consumer products in Canada (for example, clothing, leather products, cosmetic and personal care products). As outlined in the Notice of Intent for the Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substance Grouping, it was recognized that assessments and conclusions pertaining to some of the substances that were previously assessed under other initiatives (such as the Challenge) may be subsequently updated as part of the subgroup assessment.

Consultation Document

Some Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substances, although concluded not to pose a risk to the environment or to human health at current levels of exposure, may be a concern if environmental exposures or exposures of the general population of Canada to these substances were to increase.

Options on how best to monitor changes in uses of substances identified to have environmental and/or human health effects of concern are being investigated, and this was communicated to stakeholders when the draft screening assessments were published. Health Canada and Environment and Climate Change Canada have published a Consultation Document on the Options for Addressing Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substances with Effects of Concern, which describes potential options for information gathering or preventive actions on substances identified to have environmental or health effects of concern.

Stakeholders have the opportunity to contribute feedback during the consultation period, which ends May 10, 2017.

Timelines

Draft screening assessments were published in 2013 and 2014. Each publication was followed by a 60-day public comment period. Final screening assessments were published between 2014-2017. Follow-up information gathering to inform risk management actions may be conducted following publication of the final screening assessments if it is determined to be required.

Publication Timelines
Subgroup Publication of the Final Screening Assessment
Certain Aromatic Amines May 28, 2016
Certain Azo Acid Dyes June 18, 2016
Certain Azo Basic Dyes May 28, 2016
Certain Azo Direct Dyes and Azo Reactive Dyes April 4, 2015
Certain Azo Disperse Dyes March 11, 2017
Certain Azo Metal Complexes and Other Azo Substances April 4, 2015
Certain Azo Solvent Dyes May 28, 2016
Certain Benzidine-based Dyes and Related Substances November 29, 2014
Certain Diarilyde Yellow Pigments October 11, 2014
Certain Monoazo Pigments May 28, 2016

Historical Information

Subgrouping Approach

To address substances in this grouping, the Government of Canada developed a subgrouping approach for 358 aromatic azo and benzidine-based substances based on structural similarities, physical-chemical properties, common functional uses and applications. The subgrouping approach has undergone a series of consultations including external peer reviews and a multi-stakeholder technical consultation meeting held in March 2012 in Ottawa, Canada. A record of this meeting can be found in the Meeting Summary Report on Multi-stakeholder Consultation on the Proposed Subgrouping Approach of the Aromatic Azo and Benzidine based Substances.

Under this subgrouping approach, the majority of the substances are first divided into two chemical categories based on the chemical structure of the substances: Chemical Category I: Aromatic azo based substances and Chemical Category II: Benzidine-based substances.

Within each chemical category, substances are further divided based on their "application classes". Application classes of substances are related to their physical-chemical properties and potential commercial uses. Application classes identified for the substances in this substance grouping are: pigments, dyes (including solvent dyes, disperse dyes, acid dyes, direct dyes, reactive dyes, basic dyes, mordant dyes, and food dyes), precursors, indicators and aromatic amines. Substances within each subgroup may further be divided based on more detailed structural similarities. Limited scientific information is available for many of the substances in this grouping and identification of structurally related substances supports use of read-across approaches when conducting screening assessments.

Subgrouping Approach Background Document

A draft Subgrouping Approach and Background Information for the screening assessment of Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substances was released in July 2012. This document outlines the subgrouping approach, summarizes overarching technical knowledge on this substance grouping, and provides Canadian as well as international regulatory context. Comments received during the 60-day public comment period on this draft subgrouping approach document (ended September 12, 2012) centered on clarifying the purpose of the document, including more Canadian context, addressing pigments and dyes separately, and considerations for the proposed approaches for subgrouping and assessment of each subgroup. Comments have been considered in finalizing the approach document and in the context of drafting the screening assessment reports. The final Subgrouping Approach and Background Information for the screening assessment of Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substances is now available upon request. Please contact us to request a copy.

Mandatory Information Gathering (Section 71 Notice)

In December 2011, a Notice was issued in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol.145, No.51 - December 17, 2011 (PDF Version - 5 372 K) under section 71 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). This Notice applied to a Subset of the Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substances covered in this initiative.

The information collected from this section 71 Notice informed the risk assessment and, if necessary, risk management for these substances. Information provided to Environment and Climate Change Canada and Health Canada under previous initiatives was also taken into consideration.

Submissions Received for the Aromatic Azo and Benzidine-based Substance Grouping
Type of Response Approximate Number
Responses to mandatory section 71 Notice (information was received for 42 substances in this Grouping) 46
Requests for extension of the deadline for section 71 Notice (32 extensions were granted) 32
Declarations of Stakeholder Interest (stakeholder interest was expressed for all substances in this Grouping) 49
Submissions of Voluntary Data - for example, studies, additional information (voluntary information was received for all substances in this Grouping) 38

Notice of Intent

In June 2010, the Government of Canada published a Notice of intent to address Aromatic azo and benzidine-based substances in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 144, No. 23 - June 5, 2010.

The Notice of intent indicated that the Government of Canada planned to assess the potential health and ecological risks of these substances. If, through the assessment process, it is determined that any of these substances are considered harmful to human health or the environment, then management action would be considered for those substances where appropriate.

Public comments on the Notice of intent were received through the 60-day public comment period. The Government of Canada has considered the comments received and a Summary of the Main Public Comments Received on the Notice of Intent and Government Response is available.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Groupe des substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Les Substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine figurent parmi celles qui ont été déclarées prioritaires au terme du processus de catégorisation et d'après les préoccupations additionnelles relatives à la santé humaine. Certaines substances de ce groupe peuvent se transformer en amines aromatiques ou en benzidines en raison de la rupture potentielle des liaisons azoïques à l'intérieur des molécules. Ces substances ont été jugées préoccupantes par d'autres pays en raison des rejets potentiels d'amines aromatiques ou de benzidines connues pour être ou comme pouvant être carcinogènes ou génotoxiques. Certaines substances de ce groupe sont présentes ou peuvent être présentes dans des produits de consommation importés au Canada (par exemple, des vêtements, des articles en cuir ainsi que des produits cosmétiques et de soins personnels). Comme il est indiqué dans l'avis d'intention concernant les substances du groupe des substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine, on reconnaît que des évaluations et des conclusions relatives à certaines des substances du groupe pouvaient être mises à jour ultérieurement dans le cadre de l'évaluation du sous-groupe.

Document de consultation

Certaines substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine, même si les évaluations ont conclu qu'elles ne constituent pas un risque pour l'environnement ou pour la santé humaine aux niveaux actuels d'exposition, pourraient être préoccupantes en cas d'augmentation de l'exposition de l'environnement ou de l'exposition de la population générale du Canada à ces substances.

Les options sur la meilleure façon de surveiller les changements en matière d'utilisation des substances reconnues comme ayant des effets préoccupants sur l'environnement et/ou la santé humaine font actuellement l'objet d'études et ceci a été communiqué aux intervenants au moment de la publication des ébauches d'évaluations préalables. Santé Canada et Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ont publié un Document de consultation sur les options relatives aux substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine ayant des effets préoccupants , qui décrit des options pour la collecte de renseignements ou les mesures préventives dans le cas des substances reconnues comme ayant des effets préoccupants sur l'environnement ou sur la santé.

Les intervenants ont l'occasion de fournir leurs rétroactions pendant la période de consultation qui se termine le 10 mai 2017.

Échéancier

Les ébauches d'évaluations préalables ont été publiées en 2013-2014. Chaque publication a été suivie par une période de commentaires du public de 60 jours. Les évaluations préalables finales ont été publiées entre 2014 et 2017. Une collecte de renseignements de suivi permettant d'éclairer les mesures de gestion des risques peut avoir lieu après la publication des évaluations préalables finales, si elle est jugée nécessaire.

Calendrier des publications
Sous-groupe Publication de l'évaluation préalable finale
Certaines amines aromatiques Le 28 mai 2016
Certains colorants acides azoïques Le 18 juin 2016
Certains colorants azoïques dispersés Le 11 mars 2017
Certains colorants basiques azoïques Le 28 mai 2016
Certains colorants et dérivés à base de benzidine Le 29 novembre 2014
Certains colorants directs azoïques et colorants réactifs azoïques Le 4 avril 2015
Certains colorants avec solvant azoïques Le 28 mai 2016
Certains complexes métalliques azoïques et autres substances azoïques Le 4 avril 2015
Certains pigments jaunes diarylides Le 11 octobre 2014
Certains pigments monoazoïques Le 28 mai 2016

Données historiques

Approche pour la création de sous-groupes

Dans le cas des substances de ce groupe, le gouvernement du Canada a élaboré une approche pour la création de sous-groupes visant les 358 substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine selon les similitudes structurelles, les propriétés physiques et chimiques ainsi que les utilisations et les applications fonctionnelles communes. Cette approche a fait l'objet d'une série de consultations, notamment des examens externes par des pairs et une consultation technique multilatérale en mars 2012 à Ottawa, au Canada. Un compte rendu de cette réunion se trouve dans le Rapport sommaire de la consultation multilatérale sur l'approche proposée de création de sous-groupes de substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidines.

Dans le cadre de cette approche par sous-groupes, la majorité des substances sont d'abord divisées en deux catégories chimiques selon la structure chimique des substances, soit la catégorie chimique I (substances azoïques aromatiques) et la catégorie chimique II (substances à base de benzidine).

Les substances de chaque catégorie chimique sont ensuite divisées en fonction de leurs « catégories d'application ». Les catégories d'application sont liées aux propriétés physico-chimiques et aux utilisations commerciales potentielles des substances. Les catégories d'application établies pour les substances de ce groupe sont les suivantes : pigments, colorants (y compris les colorants avec solvant, les colorants dispersés, les colorants acides, les colorants directs, les colorants réactifs, les colorants basiques, les colorants à mordant et les colorants alimentaires), précurseurs et indicateurs. Les substances de chaque sous-groupe peuvent être subdivisées en fonction de similitudes structurelles plus détaillées. Peu de renseignements scientifiques existent pour de nombreuses substances de ce groupe, et l'identification de substances apparentées sur le plan structurel peut être effectuée par la déduction de données à partir d'analogues dans le cadre de la réalisation des évaluations préalables.

Document d'information de l'approche pour la création de sous-groupes

L'ébauche de l'approche pour la création des sous-groupes et de l'information technique pour l'évaluation préalable des substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine a été publiée en juillet 2012. Ce document décrit l'approche pour la création des sous-groupes, résume les connaissances techniques générales sur ce groupe de substances et présente le contexte réglementaire et international. Les commentaires reçus au cours de la période de commentaires du public de 60 jours relativement à l'ébauche du document sur l'approche pour la création de sous-groupes (qui a pris fin le 12 septembre 2012) portaient sur la clarification de l'objectif du document, y compris une description plus détaillée du contexte canadien, le traitement séparé des pigments et des colorants, et les facteurs à considérer en ce qui a trait aux approches proposées pour la création de sous-groupes et l'évaluation de chaque sous-groupe. Les commentaires ont été pris en considération dans la rédaction de la version définitive du document sur l'approche et dans le contexte de la rédaction de l'ébauche des rapports d'évaluation préalable. Le document final sur la création de sous-groupes et sur l'information technique pour l'évaluation préalable des substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine est maintenant disponible sur demande. S'il vous plaît nous contacter pour demander une copie.

Collecte obligatoire de renseignements (avis en vertu de l'article 71)

En décembre 2011, un avis a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 145, nº 51 - le 17 décembre 2011 ( Version PDF - 5372 ko) en vertu de l'article 71 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Cet avis s'appliquait à un sous-ensemble des substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine visé par cette initiative.

Les renseignements recueillis par suite de cet avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 ont étayé l'évaluation des risques et, au besoin, la gestion des risques pour ces substances. Les renseignements fournis à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et à Santé Canada dans le cadre d'initiatives précédentes ont également été pris en considération.

Soumissions reçues pour le groupe des substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine
Type de réponse Nombre approximatif
Réponses obtenues à l'avis obligatoire émis en vertu de l'article 71 (de l'information a été reçue pour 42 substances de ce groupe) 46
Demandes de prolongation de la date limite pour répondre à l'avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 (32 prolongations ont été accordées) 32
Déclaration des parties intéressées (un intérêt a été exprimé pour toutes les substances de ce groupe) 49
Soumission volontaire de données, par exemple, études, renseignements supplémentaires (de l'information a été fournie sur une base volontaire pour toutes les substances de ce groupe) 38

Avis d'intention

En juin 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a publié un avis d'intention portant sur les substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 144, nº 23 - le 5 juin 2010.

L'avis d'intention indiquait que le gouvernement du Canada projetait d'évaluer les risques possibles pour la santé humaine et l'environnement de ces substances. Si, à la suite du processus d'évaluation, certaines de ces substances sont considérées comme nocives pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement, on envisagera, s'il y a lieu, des mesures de gestion.

Des commentaires du public ont été reçus en réponse à l'avis d'intention pendant la période de commentaires de 60 jours. Le gouvernement du Canada a examiné les commentaires reçus, et il est maintenant possible de consulter le résumé des principaux commentaires envoyés par le public à la suite de l'avis d'intention ainsi que les réponses correspondantes du gouvernement.