Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Ethylene Glycol Ethers Group

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

These substances were identified for action under the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP). Monoglyme was not identified under subsection 73(1) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) but was included in this assessment as it was considered a priority based on other human health concerns.

Summary of Publications

Draft Screening Assessment
Substance Group CAS RN Common Name DSL Name Draft Screening Assessment Proposed Conclusion on Section 64 Criteria Follow-up Activities
Ethylene Glycol Ethers Group 110-71-4 Monoglyme [Ethylene glycol dimethyl ether] Ethane, 1,2-Dimethoxy- HTML Does not meet Under consideration
111-46-6 Diethylene glycol Ethanol, 2,2'-oxybis- None planned at this time
111-90-0 Diethylene glycol monoethyl ether Ethanol, 2-(2-ethoxyethoxy)-
112-07-2 Ethylene glycol monobutyl ether acetate Ethanol, 2-butoxy-, acetate
112-27-6 Triethylene glycol Ethanol, 2,2'-[1,2-ethanediylbis(oxy)]bis-
112-34-5 Diethylene glycol monobutyl ether Ethanol, 2-(2-butoxyethoxy)-
112-60-7 Tetraethylene glycol Ethanol, 2,2'-[oxybis(2,1-ethanediyloxy)]bis-
Timelines
Date Activity
January 2018 Anticipated publication of the final screening assessment.
March 4, 2017 Publication and start of 60-day public comment period on the draft screening assessment (including follow-up activities for monoglyme). The related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 151, No. 9.

Background

Two additional substances (CAS RNs 111-96-6 and 112-49-2) were initially identified as belonging to the ethylene glycol ethers assessment; however, they are no longer being assessed as part of this group. Instead, these two substances were considered in the human health Threshold of Toxicological Concern (TTC) and the Ecological Risk Classification of Organic Substances Science Approach Documents. In those documents, these two substances were identified as being of low concern to both human health and the environment. Proposed assessment conclusions for these two substances, considering the human health TTC and Ecological Risk Classification of Organic Substances Approaches, are scheduled for publication spring 2017.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Groupe des oxydes d'éthane-1,2-diol

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Ces substances ont été identifiées pour action dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC). Le 1,2-diméthoxyéthane n'a pas été désigné conformément au paragraphe 73(1) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], mais a été inclus dans cette évaluation car il était considéré une priorité relatives à la santé humaine.

Résumé des publications

Ébauche d'évaluation préalable
Groupe des oxydes d'éthane-1,2-diol Nº CAS Nom commun Nom de la LIS Ébauche d'évaluation préalable Conclusion proposée sur les critères de l'article 64 Criteria Activités de suivi
Groupe des oxydes d'éthane-1,2-diol 110-71-4 1,2-diméthoxyéthane 1,2-diméthoxyéthane HTML Ne satisfait pas aux critères. À l'étude
111-46-6 3-oxapentane-1,5-diol ou 2,2'-oxybiséthanol 2,2'-oxydiéthanol Aucune prévue à ce moment
111-90-0 3,6-dioxaoctane-1-ol ou 2-(2-éthoxyéthoxy)éthanol 2-(2-éthoxyéthoxy)éthanol
112-07-2 Acétate de 2-butoxyéthyle Acétate de 2-butoxyéthyle
112-27-6 3,6-dioxaoctane-1,8-diol ou 2,2'-[éthane-1,2-dioxy)biséthanol 2,2'-[éthylènedioxy)diéthanol
112-34-5 3,6-dioxadécane-1-ol ou 2-(2-butoxyéthoxy)éthanol 2-(2-butoxyéthoxy)éthanol
112-60-7 3,6,9-trioxaundécane-1,11-diol 3,6,9-trioxaundécane-1,11-diol
Échéancier
Date Activité
Janvier 2018 Publication prévue de l'évaluation préalable finale.
Le 4 mars 2017 Publication et début de la période de commentaires du public de 60 jours sur l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable (incluant les activités de suivi pour 1,2-Diméthoxyéthane). L'avis associé a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 151, no 9.

Contexte

Deux substances additionnelles (No CAS 111-96-6 et 112-49-2) ont été identifiées initialement comme faisant partie de l'évaluation des oxydes d'éthane-1,2-diol. Toutefois, elles ne sont plus considérées comme faisant partie de ce groupe. Ces deux substances ont plutôt été considérées dans le cadre de l'Approche fondée sur le seuil de préoccupation toxicologique (SPT) pour la santé humaine et de la Classification des risques écologiques des substances organiques. Dans ces documents, ces deux substances ont été identifiées comme peu préoccupantes pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement. Les conclusions proposées pour ces deux substances compte tenu de la l'Approche fondée sur le SPT pour la santé humaine et de la Classification des risques écologiques des substances organiques seront publiées au printemps 2017.