Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Chlorinated Alkanes

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Final Update on the Human Health Assessment of Long-Chain Chlorinated Alkanes

On May 12, 2012 the Final Update on the Human Health Assessment of Long-Chain Chlorinated Alkanes was released and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 146, No. 19 – May 12, 2012 ( PDF Version - 2.282 K).

New information received after the publication of the 2008 Final follow-up assessment report on chlorinated paraffins has led to a change in the conclusion previously published regarding chlorinated alkanes containing 18 carbon atoms or more.

The final update on the human health report concludes that chlorinated alkanes containing 18 or more carbon atoms are not entering the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that may constitute a danger to human life or health as defined in the paragraph 64(c) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

Adding Chlorinated Alkanes to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act

In 2008, chlorinated paraffins (now referred to as chlorinated alkanes) were proposed to be added to Schedule 1. In October 2011, chlorinated alkanes containing 10 to 20 carbon atoms were included in a final Order to add to Schedule 1.

Draft Update on the Human Health Assessment of Long-Chain Chlorinated Alkanes

On September 3, 2011 the draft update on the human health assessment of long-chain chlorinated alkanes was released and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 145, No. 36 - September 3, 2011 (PDF Version - 1101 K) for a 60-day public comment period.

Background

Throughout this section the terms chlorinated alkanes and chlorinated paraffins are used. The term chlorinated paraffins continues to be used only when referring to documents published prior to September, 2011 with that name in the title.

Chlorinated alkanes are subdivided into three classes: short-chain chlorinated alkanes (with 10 to 13 carbon atoms); medium-chain chlorinated alkanes (with 14 to 17 carbon atoms); and long-chain chlorinated alkanes (with 18 or more carbon atoms).

In 1993 chlorinated alkanes, which appeared on the first Priority Substances List (PSL1), were assessed to determine whether they meet criteria set out in section 11 of the 1988 Canadian Environmental Protection Act (Priority Substances List Assessment Report for Chlorinated Paraffins). It was concluded that short-chain chlorinated alkanes could pose a danger to human life or health. However, there was insufficient information to conclude whether other chlorinated alkanes could be harmful to the environment or whether other chlorinated alkanes could constitute a danger to human life or health.

Discussions aimed at managing the risks posed by short-chain chlorinated alkanes were conducted with stakeholders. However, risk management discussions were suspended, pending the generation and review of new information concerning the risk of chlorinated paraffins to human health and the environment.

In June 2005 a draft follow-up risk assessment report on chlorinated alkanes was released for a 60-day public comment period, and a Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 139, No. 24 - June 11, 2005 (PDF Version - 1288 K) indicating the Government's proposed measures for these substances. Comments and the Government's response relating to the assessment report are summarized in the Summary table of public comments on the draft follow-up risk assessment report.

In August 2008, a Final follow-up assessment report on chlorinated paraffins was published and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 142, No. 35 - August 30, 2008 (PDF Version - 710 K). That assessment concluded that:

  • All chlorinated alkanes meet the criteria under paragraph 64(c) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999);
  • Chlorinated alkanes containing up to 20 carbon atoms are predominantly anthropogenic and the available data regarding their persistence and bioaccumulation potential indicates that they satisfy the criteria outlined in the Persistence and Bioaccumulation Regulations, made under CEPA 1999. Chlorinated alkanes containing up to 20 carbon atoms thus meet the criteria for virtual elimination of releases to the environment.

As a result, it was recommended that these substances be added to Schedule 1 to CEPA 1999.

A proposed Risk management approach document for chlorinated paraffins was also released in conjunction with the final follow-up assessment in August 2008.  The Government's Response to comments on the risk management approach and consultation document on chlorinated alkanes (previously called chlorinated paraffins) is now available.

The Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012, published on January 2, 2013 in the Canada Gazette, Part II, include controls on the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of chlorinated alkanes containing 10 to 13 carbon atoms (short-chain chlorinated alkanes) and products containing these substances. Options are being considered for the control of releases to the environment of chlorinated alkanes containing 14 to 20 carbon atoms.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Alcanes chlorés

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Mise à jour de l'évaluation finale des risques pour la santé humaine des alcanes chlorés à chaîne longue

Le 12 mai 2012, la mise à jour de l'évaluation finale des risques pour la santé humaine des alcanes chlorés à chaîne longue a été diffusé et un avis relatif à cette diffusion a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 146, no 19, le 12 mai 2012 (Version PDF - 2282 ko).

Le rapport sur la mise à jour de l'évaluation finale des risques pour la santé humaine conclu que les alcanes chlorés à chaîne longue ne pénètre pas dans l'environnement en une quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions qui peuvent constituer un danger pour la vie ou la santé humaines au sens de l'alinéa 64(c) de laLoi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

Inscription des alcanes chlorés à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement

En 2008, il a été proposé d'inscrire les paraffines chlorées (maintenant appelées alcanes chlorés) à l'annexe 1. En octobre 2011, les alcanes chlorés contenant 10 à 20 atomes de carbone ont été inclus dans un décret final afin de les inscrire à l'annexe 1.

Mise à jour de l'ébauche l'évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine des alcanes chlorés à chaîne longue

Le 3 septembre 2011, la mise à jour de l'ébauche de l'évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine des alcanes chlorés à chaîne longue a été diffusé et un avis relatif à cette diffusion a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 145, no 36, le 3 septembre 2011 (Version PDF - 110 ko) pour une période de commentaires du public de 60 jours.

Contexte

Tout au long de cette section, les termes alcanes chlorés et paraffines chlorées sont utilisés. Le terme paraffines chlorées continue d'être utilisé uniquement lorsqu'il est fait référence à des documents publiés avant septembre 2011 dont le titre contient ce terme.

Les alcanes chlorés sont divisés en trois catégories : les alcanes chlorés à chaîne courte (de 10 à 13 atomes de carbone), les alcanes chlorés à chaîne moyenne (de 14 à 17 atomes de carbone) et les alcanes chlorés à chaîne longue (au moins 18 atomes de carbone).

En 1993, les alcanes chlorés, qui étaient inscrits à la première Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP1), ont été évalués afin de déterminer s'ils répondaient aux critères définis à l'article 11 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1988 (Rapport d'évaluation de la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire pour les paraffines chlorées). Il a été conclu que les alcanes chlorés à chaîne courte peuvent présenter un danger pour la vie ou la santé humaines. Toutefois, l'information disponible était insuffisante pour déterminer si d'autres alcanes chlorés pourraient être nocifs pour l'environnement ou si d'autres alkanes chlorés pourraient constituer un danger pour la vie ou la santé humaines. Des discussions visant à gérer les risques que posent les alcanes chlorés à chaîne courte ont été menées avec les intervenants. Les discussions sur la gestion des risques ont cependant été suspendues en attendant la production et l'examen de nouveaux renseignements concernant les risques des paraffines chlorées pour la santé humaine et l'environnement.

En juin 2005, un rapport préliminaire d'évaluation de suivi des risques sur les alcanes chlorés a été publié pour une période de commentaires du public de 60 jours et un avis indiquant les mesures proposées par le gouvernement pour ces substances a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 139, no 24 le 11 juin 2005 (Version PDF - 1288 ko) .  Les commentaires et la réponse du gouvernement relativement au rapport d'évaluation sont résumés dans le tableau sommaire des commentaires du public sur le rapport préliminaire d'évaluation de suivi des risques.

En août 2008, un rapport final du suivi de l'évaluation des paraffines chlorées a été publié et l'avis connexe a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 142, no 35, le 30 août 2008 (Version PDF - 710 ko). Cette évaluation a permis de conclure que :

  • les alcanes chlorés satisfont aux critères énoncés dans l'alinéa 64c) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)];
  • les alcanes chlorés dont la chaîne comporte jusqu'à 20 atomes de carbone sont surtout d'origine anthropique et les données disponibles sur leur persistance et leur potentiel de bioaccumulation montrent qu'elles satisfont aux critères énoncés dans le Règlement sur la persistance et la bioaccumulation de la LCPE (1999). Ces alcanes chlorés satisfont donc aux critères de la quasi-élimination des rejets dans l'environnement.

Il a par conséquent été recommandé que ces substances soient inscrites dans l'annexe I de la LCPE (1999).

Un document sur l'approche de gestion des risques proposée pour les paraffines chlorées a également été publié en collaboration avec le rapport final du suivi de l'évaluation en août 2008. Les Réponse aux commentaires sur l'approche de gestion des risques et le document de consultation sur les alcanes chlorés (auparavant appelés paraffines chlorées) sont maintenant disponible.

Le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques (2012) publié le 2 janvier 2013 dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, inclut notamment les contrôles sur la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, l'offre de vente et l'importation des alcanes chlorés contenant 10 à 13 atomes de carbone (alcanes chlorés à chaîne courte) et des produits contenant ces substances. On étudie actuellement des des options quant au contrôle des rejets dans l'environnement des alcanes chlorés contenant de 14 à 20 atomes de carbone.